New Gloucester Veterans'


The  Goal of the New Gloucester Veterans Monument Project is for the New Gloucester, Maine Historical Society, Lunn-Hunnewell Amvets Post #6, New Gloucester Residents and Veterans to work together to construct the New Gloucester Veterans Monument.  This will be a place where the community can pay respect to all those from New Gloucester who have served our country and have been part of the military history of the United States.
New Gloucester Veterans' Memorial Golf Tournament 
The New Gloucester Veterans' Monument Committee and the McCann Family would like to thank all the businesses and individuals who sponsored and participated in the 2016 Veterans' Monument Golf Tournament.  It was a great success.  We could not have done it without your help.

Thank you, again!


Dedication Day was a Beautiful Day in New Gloucester!
November 9th, 2014
Thank you!

Hundreds of people gathered on the site of the New Gloucester Veterans' Monument for the dedication and to honor all New Gloucester Veterans.

The New Gloucester Veterans' Monument Committee thanks everyone that attended and all those who helped to make this a very special dedication for our Veterans.

Master of Ceremony, Leanord Brooks, National Anthem:  Jane Lipp
AMVETS Post # 6 Color Guard, The Patriot Riders of Maine Chapter 2, 

New Gloucester Troop 135, Boy  Scouts and Cub Scouts, leading the Pledge of 

Allegiance, Reverend Dr. Kenneth Weldon,  special guests Governor Paul LePage, Representative Ellie Espling, Peter Morin, for US  Senator Susan Collins, 

Pam Trimward, for US Representative Chellie Pingree, Paul First,

 New Gloucester Town Manager and New Gloucester Board of Selectmen. Speakers 

Beverly Cadigan, Steven Libby, William Kiley, and Tom Blake introduced the 

veterans that unveiled the monuments:

 E. Philip Blake, Herbert Blake, Timothy Joy, Peter Wills, Wallace Bragdon, Jr,

 John Santos, William Kiley, William King, Lynn Conger, Philip Vampatella, Gary Hannington, Jr., Benjamin Redmond, Rick McCann, Dennis McCann and the center monument was unveiled by Dick McCann. Gwendolyn Jordan placed the wreath in remembrance of all who made the ultimate sacrifice, 

and Piper Major George Pulkkinen.  

A Special thank you to all the businesses, contractors and individuals listed below.

Their in-kind donations and all the labor made this very special day happen.


The McCann Family, Steven and Isaac Libby, 

Doug & Craig Bowie, Bowie Excavation, Chuck & Donna McNally, Donna’s Greenhouses, Jeffrey Sr., K.C., Marvin & Nick Hamilton, K. C.  Hamilton & Sons, Douglas Albert, Maine Turf Co., Dan Spurling and Mark Pollard Electrical, Inc., William Kiley, Kiley Excavating, Mark Leighton, M-T Pit, Donald Leavitt, Quality Concrete Floors, Jeff Amos, Terradyn Consultants, LLC., Cote Corporation, G. A. Downing Co., Frank & Chuck Hotham, Hotham & Sons Lumber, John Merrill, J. Maxwell Trucking Inc., Terry & Adam Wilkinson, Terry E. Wilkinson Excavation, Duayne & Steve Maschino, Duayne Maschino & Son Sand & Gravel, Parks Brothers, L & A Awning & Tent, Ryan Donnelly & Dale Maschino, Pineland Farms, Vincent Plummer, Devine Marble & Granite, Rob Cook, Cook’s Ace Hardware, Ted Shane, John White and Thor Hall installed granite post, Mitch Thomas, Chad Gagnon and the Franco Center for the sound system, Paul First, Cumberland County Sheriff Department and VIPS volunteers for road closure, Scott Merrill, United Rentals, Collette Monuments, Bob Macgregor, Richard Erwin and Patti Mikkelsen from Channel 3, Penny & Felix Lincoln, Link’s Variety for coffee, Thompson Orchards, Cider & Donuts, Post #6 Auxiliary, Avis Ford, Jan McLcllan and all the people that baked for the refreshment table.

New Gloucester Veterans' Monument
A joint project of:

New Gloucester Historical Society
Lunn-Hunnewell AMVETS Post #6
Committee Members:

Everett Philip Blake Jean E. Libby
Thomas P. Blake Dennis A. McCann
Lenora R. Conger Richard A. McCann
Jeffrey Hamilton, Sr. Richard L. McCann
William J. Kiley Judith Witkop

Veterans Unveiling the Memorial Tablets:


  Dennis A. McCann      Richard A. McCann     Richard L. McCann


E. Phillip Blake Herbert L. Blake


Timothy Joy Peter W. Wills


Wallace E. Bragdon, Jr. John Santos


William J. Kiley William G. King


Lenora R. Conger Douglas P. Bowie


Chad T. Donavan Gary V. Hannington, Jr.

Click to Replace